13 such amazing facts of India that you hardly knew | THE SCIENTIFIC GUY

13 such amazing facts of India that you hardly knew | THE SCIENTIFIC GUY

India is the largest democracy in the world, with a population of about 1.40 billion. It is also the seventh largest country in the world, which is surrounded between the sea and the Himalayan ranges, there are 28 states and 9 union territories in this country, which are asked in every competitive examinations, today we are going to give you Here are the important information related to these states which will be useful in your competitive examinations.

Chhattisgarh- Atal Nagar

The capital of Chhattisgarh was earlier named Raipur, which was changed to Atal Nagar on 21 August 2018. This was done in honor of Bharat Ratna Atal Bihari Bajpayee.

Goa- Panaji

After Goa was liberated from Portuguese occupation in 1961, it was made a union territory, but in 1987 it was recognized as a state and Panaji was made its capital.

Gujarat- Gandhi Nagar

Gujarat was established in 1960 after being separated from Bombay State, its capital was earlier Ahmedabad, which was changed to Gandhi Nagar in honor of Mahatma Gandhi.

Haryana- Chandigarh

Chandigarh is the only capital of the country which is the capital of two states. It is the capital of Punjab along with Haryana. The city is named after the goddess Chandi Devi here.

Himachal Pradesh - Shimla and Dharamshala

Himachal Pradesh is the second state in the country to have two capitals, although it has become the only state after the formation of a union territory of Jammu and Kashmir, earlier its capital was only Shimla, but in 2017 Dharamsala was declared as its winter capital. Gaya.

Kerala- Thiruvananthapuram

Trivandrum, a city on seven hills, is the capital of Kerala, formerly known as Thiruvananthapuram.

Madhya Pradesh- Bhopal

Bhopal got its name after Raja Bhoj, who founded it in the 11th century, earlier it was called Bhojpal, but later it was changed to Bhopal.

Maharashtra- Mumbai

The city of dreams Mumbai is the capital of this state, which was known as Bombay before 1995, also known as the economic capital of the country.

Mizoram- Aizawl

Aizawl is also the commercial and cultural capital of this state, it is the largest city of this state.

Nagaland - Kohima

Kohima is the land of Angami Naga tribe, this name was given to this city by the British, earlier Kohima was known as Thigoma.

Odisha- Bhubaneshwar

Earlier its capital was Cuttack, which was replaced by Bhubaneswar in 1948, Bhubaneshwar is also known as the City of Temples.

Punjab- Chandigarh

This union territory city was formed in 1966, when it was declared as the joint capital of Punjab and Haryana.

Sikkim- Gangtok

Gangtok, a Tibetan word meaning mountain top, is home to several monasteries and religious sites related to Buddhism.

Rajasthan- Jaipur

Jaipur is the first inhabited city of the country, which was built by Maharaja Sawai Jai Singh II in the 18th century.

Tamil Nadu- Chennai

Chennai, formerly known as Madras, is a 400-year-old city. It is also the oldest municipality in the country.

Telangana- Hyderabad

Telangana became the 29th state of the country on June 2, 2014, its capital is Hyderabad. Earlier it was the capital of both Andhra Pradesh and Telangana.

Tripura- Agartala

Agartala is formed by combining two words, Agar, a type of tree from which perfume is made and Tala. a storehouse.

Uttar Pradesh- Lucknow

Lucknow is also known as the city of Nawabs. Also called the Shiraz-i-Hind of Eastern India, it was the center of the Revolt of 1857.

Uttarakhand- Dehradun

Dehradun is one of the oldest cities in the country, it is also mentioned in mythological texts like Mahabharata and Ramayana.

West Bengal- Kolkata

Kolkata was the capital of the country till 1911, which was later shifted to Delhi by the British.


9 union territories

Andaman and Nicobar Islands - Port Blair

Andaman is said to be the largest home of sea turtles, India's only active volcano is present here.

Dadar Nagar Haveli- Silvassa

Dadar is located in Gujarat and Nagar Haveli is situated on the border of Maharashtra and Gujarat, till 1779 it was ruled by the Portuguese. It became a union territory in 1961.

Daman and Diu - Daman

It became a part of the country on 19 December 1961, till 1987 it was part of Goa and in the same year Daman and Diu was declared a union territory.

Lakshadweep - Kavaratti

Kavaratti is an important naval base of the country, INS Deeprakshak was commissioned in 2012.


This union territory city was formed in 1966, when it was declared as the joint capital of Punjab and Haryana.


Delhi is the capital of the country as well as a union territory, in 1991, by an amendment in the constitution, Delhi was changed from a union territory to a national capital territory.

Puducherry - Pondicherry

Earlier it was known as Pondicherry, in the year 2006 its name was changed to Puducherry.

Ladakh- Leh

Ladakh became a separate union territory by separating it from Jammu and Kashmir

Post a Comment